GAO Makes Appointments to New HHS Advisory Committee on Physician Payment Models

Gene L. Dodaro, Comptroller General of the United States and head of the U.S. Government Accountability Office (GAO), today announced the first appointments to the Physician-Focused Payment Model Technical Advisory Committee. The Medicare Access and CHIP Reauthorization Act of 2015 established this committee to provide comments and recommendations to the Secretary of Health and Human Services on physician payment models, giving the Comptroller General responsibility for appointing the committee’s 11 members.

“This committee will be a critical source of information and advice for the Secretary of Health and Human Services as the department considers new payment approaches for Medicare physician services,” Dodaro said. “We were extremely impressed by the caliber of the nominations received for the new committee, and it is with great pleasure that I announce today’s appointees.”

The terms of the committee members are intended to be staggered, with the first set of appointments for terms of 1, 2, or 3 years. Committee members may be appointed for subsequent 3-year terms. 

Jeffrey Bailet, MD, otolaryngologist and President, Aurora Health Care Medical Group; Robert Berenson, MD,Institute Fellow, Urban Institute; Elizabeth Mitchell, President and CEO, Network for Regional Healthcare Improvement; and Kavita Patel, MD, doctor of internal medicine and Nonresident Senior Fellow, the Brookings Institution,are appointed for a 3-year term that expires in October, 2018.  Rhonda M. Medows, MD, Executive Vice President of Population Health, Providence Health & Services; Harold D. Miller, President and CEO, Center for Healthcare Quality and Payment Reform; Len Nichols, PhD, Director, Center for Health Policy Research and Ethics, George Mason University; and Grace Terrell, MD, MMM, doctor of internal medicine and President and CEO, Cornerstone Health Care, are appointed for a 2-year term that expires in October, 2017.  Paul Casale, MD, MPH, interventional cardiologist and Chief of Cardiology, Lancaster General Health; Tim Ferris, MD, primary care internal medicine physician and Senior Vice President for Population Health Management, Partners HealthCare; and Bruce Steinwald, MBA, private consultant, are appointed for a 1-year term that expires in October, 2016

Go to top