Meet PCPCC 2018 Advanced Primary Care Leadership Awardees

Dr. Karen DeSalvo, MD, MPH, will receive the prestigious Barbara Starfield Primary Care Leadership Award. During her career, she has worked tirelessly to transform healthcare delivery through technology, medical education, and community building. Dr. DeSalvo works at Dell Medical School at The University of Texas-Austin where she works in the Division of Primary Care and Value-Based Health, with professorships in both the Department of Internal Medicine and in the Department of Population Health. Prior to her position at Dell Medical School, she served in the U.S. government as the National Coordinator for Health Information Technology from 2014 to 2016. She was concurrently Assistant Secretary for Health in the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) from 2014 until 2017. Both of these governmental positions were presidential appointments.

Go to top